top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

South Arm - First Hand


If you have lived in the Peninsula for long enough you might take for granted the drive across the Neck, the way there is a beach for every wind direction, the view of the Derwent revealed as you reach the crest of Church Hill....

...It might take a more recent arrival to the Peninsula to help you remember the moment when you knew South Arm was special and perhaps remind you to set the stopwatch on the way to your own beach.

My New Home by Piper (Age 11)

Night time arrival To me South Arm is a small place with a big heart. It’s the most magical place. Although when I first arrived, three years ago, it was almost midnight (it was actually around 9 o’clock), it was so dark, I couldn’t see just how beautiful it really was, and still is.

Mum and Bug had arrived around a week early to set everything up so I didn’t have to do anything. Dad was going to arrive in a couple of weeks. Every thing was so exciting, I felt like I was never going to fall asleep, although somehow I did (eventually.)

Next day, new beach

The next day was just as exciting, if not more. It wasn’t a warm sunny day like in all the fairy tales, which was a shame, but we were going to the beach, which was a 1.37 minute walk away (we timed it). When we set off, my brother and I ran ahead. But in the wrong direction. We ran up the street toward the road, where we thought the path to the beach was. But it turned out the path was at the other end of the street.

At first glance I couldn’t see it, because it was half covered by leaves. The beach itself was amazing. It wasn’t one of the big fancy beaches with bright yellow sand and huge waves and lots of people, like in all the movies, but I liked it the way it was with shelly sand, rippling waves, rocks and no people. We had it all to ourselves.

bottom of page